Monklands Canoe club are regular users of the Pinkston Watersports facility in Glasgow. One of the advantages of this site is the access to their artificial White Water course.

The Artificial White-water Course is canoeing’s equivalent of an artificial ski slope. It takes a concrete channel 10 metres wide and pumps 7 tons of water a second down a short but exhilarating and challenging white-water ride.

The club will run sessions on a regular basis on a Tuesday from 1900 to 2030. All of this time the white water course will be running with the outflow available for warm-ups.

We will run sessions in 2 formats

 

Coached sessions

There will be coached sessions put on periodically by the club where the target groups will range from intro white water paddling, to 3 star level training. These sessions will be organised by a coach who will set the skill level required.

To take part in one of the session pre booking is necessary. Due to the format of the booking we will also require the fee to be paid up front as the club are required to make non refundable commitment to the centre 2 weeks before each session.

Open Sessions

New to 2016 the supported sessions are aimed at those that have built up a level of knowledge of white water and are looking for the opportunity to develop and practice those skills. Experienced paddlers will be on hand to support you and provide hints and tips, but there will be no direct coaching during these sessions. Participants will be required to take a short assessment to show a level of competence before taking part in one of these sessions. These sessions will help paddlers develop a level of self sufficient and develop them to become more independent paddlers.

There is a requirement for at least 2 supported paddlers to be in attendance to work with each other and a leader must be arranged in advance of the session. This can be done by emailing info@monklandscanoeclub.co.uk at least 1 week in advance of the session.

Cost for each session is £10 and must payment/booking must be made using the Pinkston Booking menu, which can be found below HERE

The up coming sessions are:

Tue 09/01/18 Open Session 19.00 - 20.00
Tue 23/01/18 Open Session 19.00 - 20.00
Tue 13/02/18 Open Session 19.00 - 20.00
Tue 27/02/18 Open Session 19.00 - 20.00
Tue 06/03/18 Open Session 19.00 - 20.30
Tue 13/03/18 Open Session 19.00 - 20.30
Tue 03/04/18 Cpen Session 19.00 - 20.30
Tue 10/04/18 Open Session 19.00 - 20.30
Fri 27/04/18 Coached Session 19.00 - 20.30
Tue 01/05/18 Open Session 19.00 - 20.30
Tue 08/05/18 Open Session 19.00 - 20.30
Fri 25/05/18 Coached Session 19.00 - 20.30
Tues 05/06/18 Open Session 19.00 - 20.30
Tue 12/06/18 Open Session 19.00 - 20.30
Fri 29/06/18 Coached Session 19.00 - 20.30
Tue 03/07/18 Open Session 19.00 - 20.30
Tue 10/07/18 Open Session 19.00 - 20.30
Fri 27/07/18 Coached Session 19.00 - 20.30
Tue 07/08/18 Open Session 19.00 - 20.30
Tue 14/08/18 Open Session 19.00 - 20.30
Fri 31/08/18 Coached Session 19.00 - 20.30
Tue 04/09/18 Open Session 19.00 - 20.30
Tue 11/09/18 Open Session 19.00 - 20.30
Fri 28/09/18 Coached Session 19.00 - 20.30
Tue 02/10/18 Open Session 19.00 - 20.30
Tue 09/10/18 Open Session 19.00 - 20.30
Fri 26/10/18 Coached Session 19.00 - 20.30
Tue 06/11/18  Open Session 19.00 - 20.30
Tue 13/11/18 Open Session 19.00 - 20.30
Fri 23/11/18 Coached Session 19.00 - 20.30
More information on the facilities at Pinkston can be found here.    

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=APtWsg0uc7o

One Comment