Monklands Canoe club are regular users of the Pinkston Watersports facility in Glasgow. One of the advantages of this site is the access to their artificial White Water course.

The Artificial White-water Course is canoeing’s equivalent of an artificial ski slope. It takes a concrete channel 10 metres wide and pumps 7 tons of water a second down a short but exhilarating and challenging white-water ride.

The club will run sessions on a regular basis on a Tuesday from 1900 to 2030. All of this time the white water course will be running with the outflow available for warm-ups.

We will run sessions in 3 formats

Open Sessions

Open sessions are designed to be ‘pay and play’ and allows members to come along and practice their skills or generally just have fun. These sessions will not be supported by a coach however participants will be expected to demonstrate a specific level of competency before they are allowed to use these facilities (equivalent to BCU 3 star inland, people without this qualification can be signed off as competent by a coach). At these sessions the club will require the relevant support to meet the on site requirements of the Pinkston management group such as First Aid and rescue qualifications,

Coached sessions

There will be coached sessions put on periodically by the club where the target groups will range from intro white water paddling, to 3 star level training. These sessions will be organised by a coach who will set the skill level required.

To take part in one of the session pre booking is necessary. Due to the format of the booking we will also require the fee to be paid up front as the club are required to make non refundable commitment to the centre 2 weeks before each session.

Supported Sessions

New to 2016 the supported sessions are aimed at those that have built up a level of knowledge of white water and are looking for the opportunity to develop and practice those skills. Experienced paddlers will be on hand to support you and provide hints and tips, but there will be no direct coaching during these sessions. Participants will be required to take a short assessment to show a level of competence before taking part in one of these sessions. These sessions will help paddlers develop a level of self sufficient and develop them to become more independent paddlers.

There is a requirement for at least 2 supported paddlers to be in attendance to work with each other and a leader must be arranged in advance of the session. This can be done by emailing info@monklandscanoeclub.co.uk at least 1 week in advance of the session.

Cost for each session is £10 and must payment/booking must be made using the Pinkston Booking menu, which can be found below HERE

The up coming sessions are:

Tue 10/01/17 Open Session 19.00 – 20.00
Tue 24/01/17 Open Session 19.00 – 20.00
Tue 14/02/17 Open Session 19.00 – 20.00
Fri 03/03/17 Coached Session 19.00 – 20.30
Tue 07/03/17 Open Session 19.00 – 20.30
Tue 14/03/17 Supported 19.00 – 20.30
Fri 31/03/17 Coached Session 19.00 – 20.30
Tue 04/04/17 Open Session 19.00 – 20.30
Tue 11/04/17 Supported 19.00 – 20.30
Fri 21/04/17 Coached Session 19.00 – 20.30
Tue 02/05/17 Open Session 19.00 – 20.30
Tue 09/05/17 Supported 19.00 – 20.30
Fri 26/05/17 Coached Session 19.00 – 20.30
Tue 30/05/17 Open Session 19.00 – 20.30
Tue 06/06/17 Supported 19.00 – 20.30
Fri 30/06/17 Coached Session 19.00 – 20.30
Tue 04/07/17 Open Session 19.00 – 20.30
Tue 11/07/17 Supported 19.00 – 20.30
Fri 28/07/17 Coached Session 19.00 – 20.30
Tue 01/08/17 Open Session 19.00 – 20.30
Tue 08/08/17 Supported 19.00 – 20.30
Fri 25/08/17 Coached Session 19.00 – 20.30
Tue 29/08/17 Open Session 19.00 – 20.30
Tue 05/09/17 Supported 19.00 – 20.30
Fri 15/09/17 Coached Session 19.00 – 20.30
Tue 03/10/17 Open Session 19.00 – 20.30
Tue 10/10/17 Supported 19.00 – 20.30
Fri 20/10/17 Coached Session 19.00 – 20.30
Tue 31/10/17 Open Session 19.00 – 20.30
Tue 07/11/17 Supported 19.00 – 20.30
Tue 28/11/17 Open Session 19.00 – 20.00
Tue 12/12/17 Open Session 19.00 – 20.00

More information on the facilities at Pinkston can be found here.

One Comment